All Governments Lie: Truth, Deception, and the Spirit of I.F. Stone


The Main 2 Sat, Apr 15, 2017 7:40 PM
The Main 4 Tue, Apr 18, 2017 4:35 PM
Capri Theater Thu, Apr 27, 2017 4:45 PM
The Main 3 Tue, May 2, 2017 4:45 PM
Ticket Prices
General Public:$13.00
$6.00 Earlybird
Youth (25 & Under/Box Office Only):$8.00
Film Info
Premiere Status:Minnesota Premiere
Culture & Society
Social Justice
Jewish Interest
Best of Fest
Voice Category:Expanded Horizons
Release Year:2016
Runtime:92 min
Website:Official Website
Print Source:First Run Features
Director:Fred Peabody
Producer:Peter Raymont
Andrew Munger
Fred Peabody
Steve Ord
Cinematographer:John Westheuser
Editor:Jim Munro
James Yates
Composer:Mark Korven
Principal Cast:Amy Goodman
Michael Moore
Noam Chomsky
Glenn Greenwald
Ana Kasparian
Jeremy Scahill
Matt Taibbi
Filmography:Debut Feature


All Governments Lie: Truth, Deception, and the Spirit of I.F. Stone is a stirring documentary tribute to muckraking journalist I. F. Stone. His newsletter—I. F. Stone’s Weekly, published from 1953 to 1971—inspired liberal-minded Americans and continues to resonates with reporters today. Director Fred Peabody’s film will change the way you look at the mainstream media, exposing giant media conglomerates as reluctant and even at times incapable of thoroughly investigating the Federal Government, and especially the military industrial and surveillance complex. Without despairing, however, the film celebrates the independent journalists who risk their careers and often times their lives in order to expose the truth. Though few know of I. F. Stone today, All Governments Lie helps bring to light the profound influence he’s had on contemporary independent journalists like Amy Goodman, Glenn Greenwald, and Jeremy Scahill, among many, many others.

Sponsored by:

Fred Peabody is an Emmy-winning journalist and filmmaker whose credits include producer-director on the acclaimed CBC investigative program The Fifth Estate. His film, Once Upon a Time: The Dionne Quintuplets was nominated for an Emmy in 1998, and he won an Emmy in 1989 for "Free to be Wild" on ABC News’ 20/20.

Sponsored by: