We Are Still Here


The Main 5 Fri, Apr 14, 2023 1:00 PM
The Main 1 Tue, Apr 18, 2023 4:40 PM
Pop's Art Theater Rochester Sun, Apr 23, 2023 3:00 PM
Film Info
Festival Programs:World Cinema
Women & Film
Release Year:2022
Runtime:90 min
Print Source:Visit Films
Indigenous Voices
Women Directors
Human Rights
Historical Drama
Director:Beck Cole
Samuel Nuggin-Paynter
Danielle MacLean
Dena Curtis
Tim Worrall
Richard Curtis
Miki Magasiva
Mario Gaoa
Chantelle Burgoyne
Tiraroa Reweti
Tracey Rigney
Renae Maihi
Executive Producer:Richard Fletcher
David Jowsey
Christina Milligan
Penny Smallacombe
Karen Waaka
Producer:Mia Henry-Teirney
Mitchell Stanley
Toni Stowers
Co-Producer:Angela Cudd
Associate Producer:
Samuel Paynter
Sierra Schrader
Paul Struthers
Cinematographer:Eric Murray Lui
Raymond Edwards
Screenwriter:Samuel Nuggin Paynter
Tiraroa Reweti
Dena Curtis
Tracey Rigney
Danielle MacLean
Tim Worrall
Renae Maihi
Miki Magasiva
Mario Gaoa
Richard Curtis
Editor:Roland Gallois
Composer:Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper
Principal Cast:Clarence Ryan
Tioreore Ngatai-Melbourne
Villa Lemanu
Lisa Flanagan
Meyne Wyatt
Leonie Whyman
Calvin Tuteao
Evander Brown
Sean Mununggurr
Willow Rupapera
Baz Te Hira
Deborah Brown
Serene Dubs Yunupingu
Elijah Jade Bowen
Oriini Kaipara
Robert Taylor


In response to the 250th anniversary of James Cook’s second landing in Australia, ten Indigenous filmmakers created eight powerful short films, stories of hope that span a 1,000 years in the past to a millennium in the future.

In 1772, James Cook made his second voyage to Australia, bringing with him lifetimes of colonization and misery. Ten Indigenous Australian and Maori filmmakers respond with these powerful short films, beautifully woven together, that examine resistance–in the past, in the present, and in the future. “We Are Still Here is a powerful step forward for Indigenous narrative sovereignty.” –Pat Mullen, That Shelf

Director Biography

Chantelle Burgoyne is a New Zealand-born filmmaker of mixed European and Samoan descent who directed the short films “Sanctuary” (2011) and “Tatau” (2012).

Beck Cole is an Australian filmmaker of the Warramungu and Luritja nations whose numerous short films have appeared in festivals around the world. Here I Am (2011) is her debut feature.

Dena Curtis is a filmmaker with over twenty years experience in television and cinema. A League of Her Own (2022) is her debut documentary feature.

Richard Curtis is a cinematographer and filmmaker who has directed the short films “The Fires of Occupation” (2013) and “Ara Marumaru” (2018).

Mario Gaoa is a New Zealand filmmaker who is also a member of the Naked Samoans comedy group and is a celebrated television actor.

Danielle ??MacLean is of the Luritja and Warumungu peoples of the Northern Territory of Australia whose short films include “Queen of Hearts” (2004), “Mparntwe Sacred Sites” (2004), and “Blown Away” (2014).

Born in Savaii, Western Samoa, Miki Magasiva has directed the award-winning short films “Rites of Courage” (2005) and “Brother” (2006).

Renae Maihi is Maori of the Ngapuhi and Te Arawa tribes as well as NZ European, and is the director of the acclaimed feature, Waru (2017).

Tracey Rigney is a Wotjobaluk and Ngarrindjeri woman from Victoria who is the director of the short films “Endangered” (2005), “Abalone” (2012), and “Man Real” (2015).

Tim Worrall is a Maori screenwriter, director and graphic designer based in Rotorua who has directed numerous short films.